Phew…today was a long day…people. My first day at college….Gillingham…psychology. It’s a hoot. There are lots of hills in Medway. I don’t know if my peers are gonna know what’s hit them…with my super-intelligence…and bearing in mind the psychological adventures my small mind has been on so far….in my short life. So…I’m tucked up in bed…with a pot of Bombay Potatoes…and a book about serial-killers. Bombay Pots….my favourite meal. The only food capable of breaking the cycle of my blatant anorexia. Settle down again…Mr and Mrs Medway. Grab a yoghurt from the ‘fridge and I’ll tell you about another of my humble little missions. Well….I’ll hand you over to Scruffy Duck for the narration:

1981…..England

A small girl with mousy hair sat on a wall at Gillingham Green….outside the the historic parish church of St. Mary Magdalene….The Church on the Green….in Gillingham. The girl was 12 years old. The wall was a few hundred years old. The church was the oldest building in Gillingham. The caterpillar beside the girl…on the wall…was 2 days old. The girl was sitting on her hair…she had long hair…on the wall…watching the traffic. The caterpillar could see the traffic…in shapes and forms…but it didn’t know what ‘traffic’ was…of course…that would be silly. The girl didn’t know that the caterpillar was there.

The podgy driver of a Mother’s Pride bread lorry hooted at a kid who ran into the road. Busy junction…this one. The girl chuckled as the little boy flicked the V’s…with both hands….that’s why we have an apostrophe.

Italix approached the girl

‘Is your name Dawn?’

‘Dawnie….but yeah….how did you guess? Do I know you?’

‘To be perfectly honest…no…you don’t….but I know you…I know that you play silly games…like Robin Hood…and stuff like that…around these trees’

‘Is that a crime?’

‘No….just trying to get to know you’

‘Well….I shouldn’t be talking to people I don’t know….so…don’t talk to me…my mum would go ape’

‘Where’s your mum now?’

‘At home…watching some programme called Tenko…she’s not been so engrossed in a show since Ken and Deirdre married on Coronation Street’

Hah… I preferred the royal wedding….but it won’t last’

‘Do you think that Ken and Deirdre will last?’

‘In an on-off way….yes’

They sat in silence for a few minutes….it seemed like hours…but it wasn’t. Let’s get rid of that cliche.

‘Look…you seem nice enough’ said Dawn  ‘but I still shouldn’t be talking to you’

‘You’re quite right…but you have to trust people in life….not everyone…but you have to trust your own inherent judgement’

‘What’s your name then’?’

‘Well…don’t let this freak you…but…I’m from the future…and I’m here to help you…and my name is Italix’

Dawn fell about…laughing

Don’t laugh…please…I really want to help you…trust me. You will see…soon…that I am genuine…and your laughter will turn to tears

‘Really?’

Yeah…and about the trust issue….people drive around in cars…all day long…on motorways and dual-carriageways…and they have to trust other people. They have to trust that another driver won’t plough into them. They have to trust that another driver won’t meet them head-first. In a relationship…you have to trust that the other person won’t break your fucking heart’

Dawn smiled again. She liked this girl. She was funny.

‘So…how are you going to help me?’

You are gonna let me walk you home…now…home to your mum….and to Tenko…and Coronation Street’

‘What?’

Come with me now, Dawnie….hold my hand’

‘No…I’m staying here’

Italix pulled out her iPhone

Watch this…don’t get freaked…but this is YOU…in MY time…let me walk you home…now…or this WON’T be you…it will be erased…it will be fiction. Sort it out NOW kid…cos I am super-intelligent…and I won’t be around to help you forever’

‘I’m staying here’

Sorry girl…this is gonna hurt you…more than it hurts me’

Italix grabbed dawn’s torso…shook her by the waist…and dragged her to the floor.

‘What are you doing? You are hurting me. STOP IT’

A life ended…as Dawn’s elbow smashed down…onto the caterpillar

‘What are you doing…you crazy bitch?’

You’ll see’ yelled Italix…as she dragged Dawn down to the ground…by her long hair…from the wall…away from the crushed caterpillar.

Dawn was crying.  Italix yanked her arm…almost pulled it out of the socket. A copy of Smash Hits fell to the ground…landing front-cover down….Simon le Bon’s face meeting the puddle. Simon le Bon didn’t know. It was just a magazine cover. The caterpillar didn’t know. It was dead. The driver of the Vauxhall Astra didn’t know…as he smashed into the wall…and demolished the precise section where Dawn and Italix had been sitting.

Italix held her new friend…tight.

I’m going now, kid. Play your guitar…write some songs…you’ll get there. You’ll be a name in the Medway towns…you just gotta wait. I’ll see you in MY time. I’ve done my part now…so sorry I hurt you.It was justifiable. I’m going back…well…forward…to 2011. Might see you there/ You won’t remember this. See you one day..when I can have a drink with you…me…Italix…with you…Didi’

Italix vanished…almost into thin air. Dawn walked home….in a daze….the lace undone on the right foot of her black and yellow pumps.

‘DIDI?’ she thought

‘Why the Hell did she call me Didi?’



